Professors Take Home Midland Authors Accolades

Professor Sneed and Anton Recognized by the 2014 Awards for Books Published in 2013


Professor Christine Sneed recently won the award in Adult Fiction for her book Little Known Facts published by Bloomsbury. Professor Sneed worked at DePaul as an Assistant Visiting Professors from autumn of 2003 to autumn of 2012. She’ll be teaching, ENG 492 Writing Fiction this coming autumn.


Professor Ted Anton was a Finalist in Adult Nonfiction for his work, Longevity Seekers: Science, Business, and the Fountain of Youth published by the University of Chicago Press.


About the Prize

Each year since its inception in 1915, the Society has presented awards for excellence to authors and poets. Currently the Society presents awards of cash and recognition plaques to winners in the categories of adult fiction and nonfiction, biography, poetry, and children’s fiction and nonfiction published in the previous year. The juried competition is open to authors and poets who reside in, were born in, or have strong ties to the twelve-state Midwestern Heartland.

Beginning in 2002, the James Friend Memorial Award for Literary Criticism is also presented under our aegis. In addition, at the discretion of the Society’s officers and board of directors, lifetime achievement awards are presented to individuals who have donated their time and energies to assist the Society over a period of years and authors recognized for their contributions to Midwestern letters.

Midwestern Heartland States

North Dakota
South Dakota


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *