2018 Scholarships to NY State Summer Writers Institute

2018 SCHOLARSHIPS to New York State Summer Writers Institute at Skidmore College

To Teachers of Creative Writing:

Several generous gifts and the Institute’s commitment to access and diversity enable us to launch a scholarship competition each year. The competition is open to students enrolled full-time in undergraduate or graduate programs (including those who graduate in May 2018) who are nominated by their creative writing instructors. Please note the scholarships cover TUITION ONLY. Room and board expenses are the responsibility of the student.

In 2017 the Institute awarded approximately 60 tuition scholarships to students from, among other institutions, Univ. of Chicago, Northwestern Univ., Univ. of Rochester, George Washington Univ., Univ. of Iowa, SUNY-Stony Brook, Ohio State Univ., Vanderbilt Univ., NYU, Univ. of Florida, Christian Brothers Univ., Pitzer College, Harvard Univ., Yale Univ., Fashion Institute of Technology, Barnard College, Skidmore College, Ramapo College, Univ. of Sydney, U-Calif-Davis, Univ. of Idaho, The New School for Social Research, Princeton Univ., Union College, Sarah Lawrence College, Seton Hall Univ., Columbia Univ., Univ. of Massachusetts-Boston, Emory Univ., Univ. of Colorado-Denver, CUNY-Brooklyn College, Florida International Univ., Marian Univ.-Indianapolis, Univ. North Carolina School of the Arts, and Warren Wilson College.

This year the scholarships are offered for two-week or four-week workshops (July 2 to July 27) in fiction, poetry and creative non-fiction. Our teaching staff includes the following writers.

FICTION: Claire Messud; Rick Moody; Amy Hempel; Adam Haslett; Garth Greenwell; Danzy Senna; Joanna Scott; Howard Norman; Jonathan Dee; Adam Braver; Victoria Redel; and Elizabeth Benedict

POETRY: Vijay Seshadri; Henri Cole; Carol Muske-Dukes; Rosanna Warren; Campbell McGrath; and Peg Boyers

NON-FICTION: Phillip Lopate and James Miller

VISITING WRITERS: Paul Auster; Russell Banks; Ann Beattie; Frank Bidart; Carl Dennis; Nick Flynn; Rivka Galchen; Louise Gluck; Mary Gordon; Margo Jefferson; William Kennedy; Jamaica Kincaid; Joyce Carol Oates; Joseph O’Neill; Caryl Phillips; Robert Pinsky; Francine Prose; and Charles Simic

To nominate students, send an email to writerscholarship@skidmore.edu indicating the names and email addresses (please be sure the emails are current) of those you recommend to us. Only names & emails required. Up to six nominated students from each writing instructor are welcome. We are of course looking for promising writers, and hope to increase the diversity of our student body.

All faculty nominations must be received AT THE LATEST by February 25th. All student applications are due by March 10th. The names of scholarship award winners, along with their schools, will be announced to all applicants on or around MARCH 20th.

Program applications and further information on the New York State Summer Writers Institute at Skidmore College may be found at the following link for the Writers Institute web site: www.skidmore.edu/summerwriters.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *